Meet the Kallah Aleph Tzevet (Staff)!

The osrui blog

Home » Meet the Kallah Aleph Tzevet (Staff)!

Kallah has been a blast this summer! Kallah is a unique eidah where chanichim (campers) can grow from beginners to experts at how to love summer camp. Our chanichim have enjoyed chuggim (electives) ranging from horseback riding, book club, kickball, and waterskiing. As a unit, we have also had fun evening programs such as a lip sync battle and an accordion concert. We even had a counselor-led “choose your own adventure” night where campers got to choose from a jam session, yoga, circus, a DIY fashion show, and more. Kallah has made our mark on OSRUI by leaving “kindness rocks” with thoughtful messages all around the camp. I can’t wait for the rest of this session full of laughing, growth, and new friendships.

meet the kallah rosh eidah (unit head)

Hi! My name is Audrey, and I am so happy to be Rosh Eidah of Kallah this summer. This is my 14th summer at OSRUI, and I spend the rest of the year telling stories about summer camp. I recently graduated from Kalamazoo College with a degree in English and Religion, and next year I will be living in Jerusalem!

meet the kallah madrichim (counselors)

Ella: Hi, my name is Ella and I am from Oak Park, Illinois. This is my 9th summer here at OSRUI. During the year, I study linguistics at McGill University. At camp, I love practicing Hebrew and swimming at the lake!

Aya: Hi I’m Aya! I’ve been going to camp since 4th grade and have always wanted to be a counselor. This upcoming fall I will be attending the University of Iowa studying business marketing. A fun fact about me is that both my parents are from Russia, but I speak no Russian.

Isaac: Hello! My name is Isaac Soloveychik and this is my 10th summer at camp, 3rd on staff! I am a rising junior at the University of Illinois studying Molecular and Cell Biology. A cool fact about me is that I have lived in 4 different states!

Yaron: Hello, my name is Yaron Carmel and this is my first year as a counselor in Osrui, I worked last year as a Emotional Support Worker in Meitarim Highschool in Israel, and also finished my civic service at Jordan river Village camp and Malkishua Rehabilitation Center. I love to cook, Surf, Dance, hike, and travel. Special talent I have is picking up languages easily.In the future, I’m planning to study acting and after that travel the world

Max: Hello! I’m Maximillian Wall and this is my 8th summer at camp! I’m going to be majoring in Dietetics in the fall at University of Wisconsin- Stout. My favorite activity at camp is either Shira or swimming. A fun fact about me is that I love Dungeons and Dragons and I’m happy to teach you if you’d like.

Cameron: Hello, my name is Cameron. This is my 10th year at OSRUI. I will be studying Math, Politics, and Data Science at Lake Forest College this fall. I am a self-taught programmer and graphic designer. I can code databases, applications, websites, servers and more. This summer I am enjoying spending time with my campers and helping to run the content for OSRUI’s website, social media and blogs.

Danielle: Shalom (Hello!)! My name is Danielle Wolff and I am the s’ganit (assistant unit head) of Kallah! This is my 10th summer at camp and 3rd on staff. When I am not at camp, I am a student at the University of Kansas where I study community development and education.

Adele: Hi! My name is Adele and I am so excited to be a madricha in Kallah this summer. This will be my 9th summer at OSRUI. At camp, I love to celebrate Shabbat, go swimming, and make friendship bracelets. I am an incoming sophomore at the University of Michigan studying cognitive science and urban studies.

Carley: Hi!! My name is Carley and I’m a first-year counselor here in Kallah. This is my 7th summer at camp, and I can’t wait to give everyone an amazing experience!! After this summer, I will be attending Bradley University and studying Biochemistry to hopefully one day become a doctor.

Tomer: Hi, my name is Tomer Mashiah. I’m 21 years old and I’m from Gan Yavne, Israel. This is my first year in Osrui as part of the Mishlahat and I was released from the IDF two months ago- where I served as a medic. My favorite things in the world are movies and art history.

David S: Hi! I’m David Sommer (the kids pronounce it דויד). I’m 19 years old and a rising sophomore at University of Illinois Urbana Champaign. I was born in Cincinnati but grew up in Highland Park, Illinois since I was around 2. I’m majoring in the Bachelor of Fine Arts Acting program. This is my 17th year in total here at camp since I was very young, and my first year on staff. I love OSRUI and to play guitar and sing!

David K: I’m David Kanfer. I’m 19 years old and just finished my first year of college. I was born in Minneapolis but grew up in Champaign Illinois since I was four. I’m majoring in Nuclear, Plasma, & Radiological Engineering at the University of Illinois and work as a undergraduate research assistant at the center for plasma material interactions. This is my 6th year at camp, but first as a counselor. I like card tricks!

Gal: Hi my name is Gal Burshtein and this is my first time at OSRUI.  I am from Haifa, Israel and at home I am mainly busy with my small business for glass works.  I really enjoy it and I also really like photography.

Ruth: Hi! My name is Ruth Steinhouse and I am from Evanston, IL. This summer is my 9th summer at camp! Some of my favorite camp activities are water skiing and playing Gaga. During the year, I attend Cornell University where I am majoring in Human Biology, Health, and Society.

Eliana: Hey! My name is Eliana Meyer and I’m from Skokie, IL. I’m on my 9th summer of camp this year, and my first year as a counselor! I study forensic science at Saint Louis University with a minor in communication sciences and disorders. My favorite thing at camp is Shabbat Shira and climbing the tower. I’m so excited to be in Kallah staff!

Will: Hi, I am Will Martin, I am from Oak Park Illinois. I am 18 years old and this will be my 8th summer at Osrui. I spent my years as a camper in mosh and tzofim and am excited to be part of the staff this year. I will be attending Iowa State University in Ames Iowa this school year, I am majoring in aerospace engineering.

Lidor: I am Lidor Udi. I was born and raised in Israel in Haifa. I was discharged from my service army about 1.5 years ago. This is my first year in camp! My favourite thing is to play video games and go to my favourite soccer team Maccabi Haifa.

Rebecca: Hi! My name is Rebecca Lubar, and I am originally from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. This is my 11th summer at camp – 5th summer on staff – and I am excited to be returning to Kallah this summer after a few years on staff in Moshavah! I study kinesiology at University of Minnesota. My favorite activities at camp are swimming and dancing!

Justin: Hey, my name is Justin Opell and I am from central New Jersey. This is my first summer at camp and I am thrilled to be in kallah. I am a rising sophomore at Indiana University and I am majoring in psychology. My favorite thing to do is play guitar!

Kallah Girls 1
Kallah Boys 3
Kallah Boys 2
Kallah Girls 3
Kallah Girls 2
Kallah Boys 1